+91 79091 77755


Current Affairs & Study Materials

Current Affairs


INS Mormugao is the second vessel of the Indian Navy’s stealth guided-missile destroyers of the Visakhapatnam class. It was launched on September 17, 2016, and is being built by Mazagon Dock Limited (MDL).

New Chief Justice of India

Senior-most Supreme Court judge and Chief Justice of India-designate Dhananjaya Y Chandrachud is all set to become the 50th head of the Indian judiciary when President Draupadi Murmu would administer the oath of office to him at Rashtrapati Bhawan. About CJI • The Chief Justice of India and the Judges of the Supreme Court (SC) are appointed by the President under clause (2) of Article 124 of the Constitution. • The Supreme Court collegium is headed by the Chief Justice of India and comprises four other senior most judges of the court. • The collegium system is the system of appointment and transfer of judges that has evolved through judgments of the Supreme Court (Judges Cases), and not by an Act of Parliament or by a provision of the Constitution.

Nobel Prize 2022

Nobel Prize for Economics 2022: US Trio of Ben S. Bernanke, Douglas W. Diamond, and Philip H. Dybvig received the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences 2022 (Nobel Prize for Economics 2022) in Memory of Alfred Nobel “for research on banking and financial crises.”

Nobel Peace Prize for 2022 has been conferred to human rights advocate Ales Bialiatski from Belarus, Ukrainian human rights organization named Center for Civil Liberties and Russian human rights organisation Memorial.

Nobel Prize in Literature 2022 was awarded to Ernaux “for the courage and clinical acuity with which she uncovers the roots, estrangements and collective restraints of personal memory”. The prestigious international Nobel Prize in Literature, awarded annually for outstanding work in literature.

Nobel Prize in Chemistry has gone to Carolyn Bertozzi and Barry Sharpless of the United States and Morten Meldal of Denmark who have made a strong case for adopting an alternative approach to producing new complex molecules, which minimises waste and increases overall efficiency. Sharpless is the originator of the concept of ‘Click Chemistry’. He found the first chemical reaction that satisfied the criteria for ‘Click’ reactions using a nitrogen-containing cyclic compound and discovered that use of copper as a catalyst eliminated the by-products.

The 2022 physics laureates’ development of experimental tools has laid the foundation for a new era of quantum technology. Being able to manipulate and manage quantum states and all their layers of properties gives us access to tools with unexpected potential. Intense research and development are underway to utilize the special properties of individual particle systems to construct quantum computers, improve measurements, build quantum networks and establish secure quantum encrypted communication.

Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine 2022 has gone to Svante Paabo, a Swedish scientist based in Germany who is credited with developing new and innovative methodologies to extract ‘clean’ DNA from human fossils and for sequencing Neanderthal genome. Also discovered the existence of an unknown sub-species of the human family, now called Denisovans who lived around the same time as the Neanderthals.

Download Daily Current Affairs